What do you want to do when you grow up?!?!?

What do you want to do when you grow up???

I really dislike this question. First off how do I answer your question truthfully? A. Do I give you the full list of things I want to do? B. Do I tell you what you want to hear? (I.E. I want to be a fashion designer or Stylist… maybe both.) There are so many factors that play into this question I haven’t got a clue about. Why are you even asking me?

These are all the thoughts running through my mind in that 5-15 seconds I’m staring at you blankly. Then I usually go for the simply answer you want to hear. “I would like to go into the fashion…” But to be honest that answer is a lie. It’s an answers given out of politeness. The sad part is we both know this yet we still go on playing this mind game. If we were honest. We would all be that brave soul (or is he really the stupid one who hasn’t figured out, it’s all a mind game..?) who truthfully says “I don’t know.” No one knows what they will be doing in 5 days much less 5 years! Having a plan is wonderful. But just because you have a plan, doesn’t mean you will be “successful” and vise versa.

Please, for the love of young people, STOP asking this question!

When I was younger people used to ask “What do you want to be when you grow up?”
What happened??? I have only grown a few years older. Now everything is about what I’m doing, not who I am and want to be. (This mind game of adulthood is confusing. I now understand why so many people are scared by it.)

I still remember being asked once what I wanted to be and giving this answer. “I want to be a cop during the day and a volunteer firewoman at night. Oh and on the weekends I’ll work in the ER or be an EMT.”
LOL! 5 year old me must have thought sleep was optional. But let’s be real, I still want to be what those people were to me. An inspirational everyday Hero.

So in all honesty here is what I want to be, not the one action that will define me for the rest of my life, not what I want to do with the rest of my life but who I want to be, the person behind the actions, the person I want to be today, tomorrow and on my death bed.

1. I want to be a good daughter, to my earthly parents and God.
2. I want to be a good citizen, here on earth and in heaven.
3. I want to be a good (not perfect) example.
4. I want to be kind, caring, loving and joyful.
5. I want to be a wise leader.
6. I want to be a good wife and mother. (One day)
7. I want to be a good student.
8. I want to be a generous giver.
9. I want to be loyal, trustworthy, respectful and honest.
10. I want to be an inspirational everyday Hero.

This is the person I’m working everyday to become. Someone who is loving and a strong leader. I’ve learned it really doesn’t matter what I do or who I do it with, as long as it lines up with these values/desires. Once I understood my values and what made me tick things became so simple and less stressful. I can honestly say I have no earthly idea what I want to do or what lines in my future. But I do know that it will be purposeful, amazing and whatever it is will be awesome!!! (Even if on Aug, 7th 2035 I’m on my hands and knees scrubbing the floor, it will be awesome!)

Princess Allie ❤

Leave a Reply

