Through The Windows Of October #2

Some of my fondest memories are of playing in the rain with family and friends. But as we get older we some how deem it nonsense to play in the rain and otherwise. Adults (and really anyone over 10 years old) are too grown to play. I personally think that’s wrong. I think there is a time to play, a time to goof off even if you are 65 and own the largest skyscraper in NYC! I understand we all need to learn to be serious but we can’t forget to play!!! There are already too many serious things in this world. 😉

Playing in The Rain.

Don’t tell me I’m too old,
I won’t listen to you scold!
It really is alright for me to play in the rain,
I won’t catch a cold.

Why, why does it make you so mad???
I jumped into a puddle or two, that’s nothing bad.
Yes, now my clothes are spoiled.
But that’s no reason to be sad.

Why do you think it’s foolish
For me to dance in the rain???
So my clothes will have little stains.

You think I’m insane when I give your children rings,
We run outside jumping in puddles, being Queens and Kings.
But dear, we’re just visiting Narnia and worlds beyond your view!

To be honest, I don’t understand you at all!!!
Your children are very smart for ones so small.
Just because you’re grown doesn’t mean you know everything.

When I grew up my childhood self came too.
She lives and breathes in everything I do.
Sometimes I let her lead, we make messes and play.

That crazy child inside of me, sees everything as a joke,
Or a funny game called poke!
But I’m very responsible too,
I know when to put things back into the Zoo.

So don’t condemn with nasty looks,
Or judge my story books!
Because sometime the child in you will be leading,
And it will always be okay.

Listen to that voice inside your head,
Telling you play is discovery masked in joy!
Next time you see us playing with “kid” toys,
Or doing the things for girls and boys,
Come join us, no matter our age,
We are the ones becoming sage!

I hope you all enjoyed today’s poem! It was a pleasure to write and share with you all! ^_^
Thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you all tomorrow with in a new post! xD

Feel free to like, share or comment. [=

Princess Allie ❤

Leave a Reply

