Through The Windows of October #6

A poet's dinner

Hello again, today I have a poem and a recipe for Mexican rice! I hope you enjoy and find some inspiration here.

The Poet’s Dinner

A poet sits at dinner
He isn’t eating much.
He is busy watching others
Who he saw at lunch.
He is thinking of their stories.
Wondering where they’ll go.
Hoping they didn’t see him staring so.
He starts to eat not tasting a thing.
He is too busy thinking to hear the ring.
I watch his shocked expression
As a young lady walks in.
She comes to his table
He doesn’t say a word,
I kinda wonder if he’s able.
Her shirt says “Beautiful nerd”.
She has a sweet smile,
He has a serious brow.
They both start talking now.
I watch them share his fries,
And then they say their goodbyes.
They leave happier for meeting.
I look around for better seating.
Until someone else comes along,
And my inspiration is strong.

Mexican Rice

Allie’s Mexican Rice

4 cups of rice
8-10 cups of water
16oz can of tomatoes
8oz of salsa
1/2 cup of Jalapeno (don’t add if you want a mild rice)
1 chopped onion
1 Tbl of chili powder
1/2 tbl of black pepper
3 Tbl of paprika
1 Tbl garlic

Mix all ingredients into a large pot, put on high heat until boils then turn down to low until rice is soft about 30 minutes. Serve with tacos, soups and salads.

I hope you are all enjoying your Tuesday evening! Let me know if you try the recipe. ^_^ Have a wonderful night. I’ll be back tomorrow with a new post!

Feel free to like, share and comment. [=

Princess Allie ❤

Leave a Reply

