Food Allergies…

Hello my lovely friends. Today I decided to show you a part of my life I am insecure about. I have a lot of food allergies. That’s a fact. I have actually never realize I was insecure about this… I just feel awful when having to explain it, talking about it and would rather it go unnoticed. Hahaha which is kinda the definition of insecurity.

I have had food allergies since I was a child. It started off as just an allergic reaction to strawberries. Then I ended up in the E.R. because of shellfish. I’ve been to the E.R. two or three times and I haven’t eaten any shellfish since that first E.R. visit. I am also allgeric to gluten, dairy, corn and legumes (peanuts and beans). I will sometimes still eat dairy, corn or some beans but I pay the price for those food choices. I try hard not to eat things that my body rejects.

I think the hardest part of this insecurity is rejecting someone else’s cooking. When this happens I just say no thank you and if they are set on giving it to me… I give it to someone else. I hate having to deal with this, it’s really embarrassing. I also hate when people treat it like I’m a picky eater… but that’s a whole other story.

It’s really rough visiting people and eating out. They make a huge fuss about the restaurant. Or I cook my own meal and they get offended. They make it a huge deal when it is like breathing for me. I would just prefer it to go unnoticed.

Hahaha Let’s end this on a good note. I feel like I have just ranted this whole post.

What I have learned from my Food Allergies

I have learned a lot about health since my first E.R. visit. Sharing food is a physiological thing. It is a physically seen sign of bonding. (That’s why people get so hurt when you don’t take their food.)

I have generally been a healthy person but I have eaten a lot cleaner because of my allergies. I don’t eat nearly as many processed foods.

I have grown as a cook and baker. I have learned how to cook a ton of new veggies and fruits. I have learned how to bake with new flours and such. I have also had to be more creative in the kitchen. I may have fewer ingredients but a lot of different meals and recipes.

I have related to so many people who have food allergies and/or disease with complex dietary needs. I have had my eyes opened. I never knew before how many people have complicated dietary needs!!!

I have also learned how to read ingredient lists and the importance of knowing what’s really in food.

I’ve learned to be patience with people who don’t understand and not to explain more than is asked. It’s not my job to tell the world my “problems” but to live in peace with the world and my “problems”.

I have also learned that I am insecure about eating differently. I don’t like people making a fuss over me. I find it very embarrassing. But I am also okay with how I eat and I know it’s the best for my body.

I have learned that food is very important to humans. Our food says a lot about us. Our relationship with food says a lot about us. And how we relate to people and food says a lot about us.

Thank you all for reading this post. It’s a bit different from what I’m used to writing but I thought it would be fun to talk about food. I’m also sorry I haven’t been posting consistently. That will hopefully change soon. 😉

Do you have any complex dietary needs or friends who do? Let me know in the comments how you handle the awkwardness!!!

Until we meet again,
Allie ❤

“Hey mom, I am only one shrimp away from heaven!” ~Allie 2012

8 comments

  1. Nena · April 1, 2016

    You are so right….the hardest part is when people think you are being picky:( Or trying to stay on a “diet” for your figure. I can only imagine what it must be like for you:( I am lactose-intolerant and most of the time can’t eat anything at get togethers. It is amazing how many things have cheese! So to have more allergies added on can be tough. I am simply honest with people and tell them that although it looks delicious and would love to enjoy it, I am unable to eat it because my body negatively reacts to it. Most people are very understanding when you say that, but you have your few that just don’t get it so the best thing is to know where you stand and that your intention is not to offend. After all, our own well being comes first;)

    Like

    • Allie · April 1, 2016

      Very true. I really shouldn’t let the few ruin things for me. Thank you for sharing, it’s very encouraging to know I am not alone in this struggle. [= ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nena · April 1, 2016

        We stick together and uplift each other!

        Like

      • Allie · April 2, 2016

        ❤ I love the way you worded this!!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nena · April 3, 2016

        Woop woop!

        Like

      • Allie · April 3, 2016

        xD ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. onenerdyowl · March 18, 2016

    I too have food allergies (as you know) Gluten and Lactose (it might be dairy too, I haven’t had that checked) But I’ve actually never been insecure about my allergies….But I have been sad about them….like “How will I live my entire life not being able to eat cheese and Ice cream?! D=” But then I remember how sick I feel when I eat them and decide its for the better….. =) Great post Allie, This was an encouragement for me to be more strict with my diet! =D ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Allie · March 18, 2016

      I know!!! Ice cream is one of my weaknesses… but I only give in (and only a very little when I do give in.) If I have a “sick” day the next day. It’s always so awful watching everyone else eat lovely things that literally make you want to die. xD Thanks so much!!! I’m so glad I’m not the only one in this boat!! We must sick together!!! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

