#16 NaPoWriMo, My Favorite Place…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to answer an Almanac Questionnaire and to write a poem from those images. I would like to share something I penned in my journal first… I think it will help you understand my inspiration. “I like the idea of capturing a time and place– forever. Being able to replay it over and over. Being able to go back and see all the things you missed. Being able to hold onto it forever.” Enjoy.

My Favorite Place

I once said my 3 favorite places are all in my head.
I go and visit them when I’m in my bed…
Or when I get lost in something I’ve read.

I capture that moment… that time.
I release it back into the world in rhyme.
Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it’s a climb.

I can go anywhere with my mind.
Anywhere my words can find.
With the magic of imagination to bind.

I can travel back into my childhood,
Go to my secret fort in the wood.
In my wonderful memories, I could.

I can’t go back and get a redo
But I can learn from my past view.
And my memory will get me through.

I can remember the mist
The way rose tinted glasses twist
Good and bad entangled amidst.

I can’t seem to remember your name
But I can remember how you got fame.
You once wrote “I really miss you all the same.”

It was our dream to be the heroes,
Saving the world from all the evil foes.
Until we were conquered by what life throws.

But I loved sitting on the floor.
And giggling while you snore.
We knew it would end… in our core.

That’s the way of the turbulent whether.
It whips usus around with old leather.
Until we can’t fly… because we’ve lost our feather.

My favorite places are where memories were made,
That will come flooding back with a songs aid,
A picture or book… But I’ve lost some to the shade…
They became darkened and simply fade.
Forever lost… leaving me afraid.
Afraid of being forgotten… Afraid of forgetting…

I hope you are all having an awesome weekend. Keep smiling, awesome sauce!!!

Allie ❤

“Sometimes you will never know the value of something, until it becomes a memory.” ― Dr. Seuss.

Leave a Reply

