#29 NaPoWriMo, Do You Remember…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to write a poem inspired by things I remember. Enjoy!!!

Do You Remember

How things seemed so big when we were small.
Or the first time we ran into the freezers door and felt tall.

I remember the first time someone thought my sibling was my child.
And a friend my H U S B A N D…

Do you remember learning how to read?
I remember never taking heed.

How music made us feel something
And playing on the playground was everything.

Do you remember our wedding under the slide
Or how we used to seek and hide?

I remember the first goodbye
And holding it all together in a little sigh.

Do you remember the clouds on that day
Oh how your eyes begged me to stay.

Do you remember our childhood
Our secret club and brotherhood.

Am I the only one who can relive those moments
That have long been spent… and forgotten since.

Do you remember my name?
Or hair that couldn’t be tame?

Do you remember anything at all
Or is it all some dream I saw?

I hope you are having a wonderful day. Keep smiling beautiful!

Allie ❤

“Sometimes, remembering hurts too much.” ― Jess Rothenberg

10 comments

  1. Cezane & Michelle · May 16, 2016

    I can relate to some of this moments, memories… a really beautiful poem taking us backto memory land.- Cezane

    Liked by 1 person

    • Allie · June 13, 2016

      I’m so glad you enjoyed a walk down memory lane. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. onenerdyowl · May 2, 2016

    This is such an adorable poem Allie! I love it! And my little sister is 11 years younger than me so when I was carrying her around people would ask if she was mine and I’d be like “Yeah, my sister” XD lol Its so awkward! Again, love it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Allie · June 13, 2016

      Yes! Hahaha the things people think to be true are so funny!

      Like

  3. joyroses13 · April 30, 2016

    Aww beautiful poem about remembering! Gotta love cherished memories like that! But yes that quote at the end is very true to at times!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. happyalexx · April 30, 2016

    ‘Do you remember our wedding underneath the slide, and how we used to sneak and hide’ is my favourite line, because I think by picking out things that we all did when we were younger, you’ve made this poem even more emotive. I wish I had done this challenge this year, but I didn’t know about it. Maybe I’ll take on NaPoWriMo next year, it looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

