Perspective…

Hello my lovely friends. Today I would like to share a poem inspired by one of my college classes. Enjoy!

Perspective

I guess I’ll pull back the curtains
I’ll let you see in

Look at my trophies
And the times I didn’t win

Because I couldn’t read properly
Until I was eight

But I didn’t let
That decide my fate.

I have watched my parents
Struggle for everything

We have today. I will
do the same thing.

I come from the bottom
I’ve done without

But that’s not
What this poem is about

I’ve been told in so many words
I’m stupid. I’ll never learn

I’ve cried when those
I’ve trusted turned

I have never let any of that
Stop me for long

I just stand up
And sing my victory song

I’m a fighter
I will not be held back

I will not let your words
Kill me, without tack.

I can see right through
The fake liars

You will never put out my
Passionate fires

I am a force to be
Reckoned with

The fact that I’m always
Sweet is a myth

Let’s move on to a
Good thing

I have been told
I can sing

I am creative and kind
I’m a pearl to find

I am the girl who
Couldn’t spell

But who writes
Pretty well

I’m the girl who doesn’t
Understand algebra

But who loved to be
In theatric drama

I am a good leader
Because I learned to follow

I am strong because
I’ve known great sorrow

So remember little one
Things aren’t as the seem

Never give up on a person
Or a big dream.

I hope you are all having a wonderful day. Keep smiling and never give up on your dreams!!!

Allie ❤

Rise and rise again until lambs become lions”
― Robin Hood

6 comments

  1. Mei · October 10

    Wow! I really really liked those last four lines ❤ ❤ I hope you're doing amazing!!

    Like

    • Allie · October 10

      Awww thank you so much. I really liked how those lines came out as well. 😊 I’m doing well thank you, I hope you have been doing good too!

      Like

  2. joyroses13 · July 22, 2016

    Great attitude! Keep it and it will take you far!

    Like

  3. thelonelyauthorblog · July 22, 2016

    Good write. Never ever give up on a person.

    Have a wonderful weekend full of sunshine and smiles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

