#26 NaPoWriMo, Something Like…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to write a call and response poem. Enjoy.

Something Like

When I was
A young working man, many years ago.
I find myself,
Working in a mining tunnel far below.

We would cheer
Ourselves and to let the others know
We were still
Alive, would sing amidst explosions glow.

We sing something like ho ho ho
We shout something like no no no
We drive something like go go go
We do something like mo mo mo
We work something like pro pro pro
We wake something like foe foe foe
We learn something like woe woe woe
We love something like yo yo yo

Together all us
Men would sing over the powder blow.
As long as
We could sing we knew we had air flow.

We sing something like ho ho ho
We shout something like no no no
We drive something like go go go
We do something like mo mo mo
We work something like pro pro pro
We wake something like foe foe foe
We learn something like woe woe woe
We love something like yo yo yo

That simple song
To this day haunts me although
It’s been years
Ago. It covers me like a dark shadow.

We sing something like ho ho ho
We shout something like no no no
We drive something like go go go
We do something like mo mo mo
We work something like pro pro pro
We wake something like foe foe foe
We learn something like woe woe woe
We love something like yo yo yo

Sing that song
Over my grave and under the willow.
Let it be
My parting words…

We sing something like ho ho ho
We shout something like no no no…

With that second verse his lips slow.
And I start to sing very low…

We drive something like go go go
We do something like mo mo mo
We work something like pro pro pro
We wake something like foe foe foe…

This is where his last breath was bestow.
And I know because he let go of my elbow.

We learn something like woe woe woe
We love something like yo yo yo…

The tears begin to outflow…
I feel run over by a buffalo.
I turn to the window
and I see a rainbow.
Welcoming the commando.

I will go,
like a pro
And conquer the foe
And face my woe.
I will not take but a mo
They can not tell me no
And I shall give a hearty shout HO!!!
I again shall greet you with a mighty YO!!!

Well that was an interesting story was it not! >_< hahaha. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Keep smiling, it's simple gorgeous. [=

Allie ❤
Ps. Mo is defined as a short period of time. (E.I moment.) It's British or so says google. [=

“Sometimes people are beautiful. Not in looks. Not in what they say. Just in what they are.” ― Markus Zusak

2 comments

  1. musingpenfemme · April 27, 2016

    This is a like song (intended, I suppose?). Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

