#25 NaPoWri, The Road I’ve Taken…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to write a poem beginning with a line from another poem. If you haven’t already guessed by the title, I took my inspiration from Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken. Enjoy!!!

The Road I’ve Taken

“I took the one less traveled by”
I began walking with a little sigh,
Looking straight up the mountain side
From this climb I wanted to hide.

The comments of others pulled me down
Their words come like waves to drown
My quiet spirit encouraging myself in the Lord
Taking the shield of Faith with trusted Sword.

I looked not to the left nor to the right
I only looked to the greatest light.
He has always been my H O P E,
My vision is like a kaleidoscope.

The path I travel is my mission,
It is my goal, purpose and V I S I O N
To encourage the broken, to love the hated
To speak for the muted and stand with the berated.

This is my road, my path, my trail.
It’s something I shall not fail.
Everyday I shall move F O R W A R D
Baby step or leap, I’m moving onward.

I hope you are having an amazing day. Thank for stopping by. Keep smiling, gorgeous. Your smile is the best!!! ❤

Allie ❤

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost (1874-1963)

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Too roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

4 comments

  1. Bernie · April 26, 2016

    Love this! It’s a really creative poem idea; I want to try it now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. onenerdyowl · April 26, 2016

    I am in LOVE with this poem! Its so encouraging and uplifting! xx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment