#17 NaPoWriMo, Their Perspective…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to write a poem using 10 or more words from a specialized dictionary… I did not do it. I have learned from this challenge I do not find inspiration in dictionaries or in indexes. So Today I wrote about the stars. Enjoy.

Their Perspective

I went to my dictionary
I looked up the word
S T A R.

“A celestial object that consists of extremely hot gases and emits radiation and light.”

But I continued reading
Not liking what I was seeing.

“A luminous, relatively stationary celestial body visible from earth. Esp. At night.”

This is a scientists definition
I want a poets imagination.

“The celestial bodies, regarded as determining and influencing human events.”

This is going in the right direction
But it is only a reflection.

“Fate; fortune.”

You must have mistaken me
That is not what I want to see.

“A design or emblem representing a star…”

I throw the book.
I didn’t give it another look.

I wanted to know the star…
Ones near and far.
I’m searching for a new
Perspective.
I want to know what it is
to be a star.
Shining light,
Faithfully guiding through the night.
Always being observed…
But never truly felt…
No one ever touching,
Never having anyone in your warmth.
Being only seen,
On dark clear nights.
Only when the people look up.
What must that be like???
You are surrounded by friends
But feeling lonely in the end…
Because no one wants to share your pain…
Laughter.
Singing.
They only want your glory
And beauty.
What must it be like
To be the candle light
Of the darkened night…
In the beautiful heavens
Looking down to know…
That’s what I must know!
So I turn to poetry
To define it for me.

I hope you are having a jolly holiday!!! (Mary Poppins is on the mind.) Keep smiling, awesome sauce!!!

Allie ❤

“I wonder how many people I’ve looked at all my life and never seen.”
― John Steinbeck

2 comments

  1. onenerdyowl · April 18, 2016

    I am in LOVE with this poem Allie! You have serious skill girl! gahh its just so lovely!!!

    Like

    • Allie · April 20, 2016

      Awww you are making me blush. Thank you so much. ^_^ ❤ Your comments are seriously the best!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

