#12 NaPoWriMo, True Worship…

Hello my lovely friends. Today’s challenge is to write an index poem. I honestly had an awful time with this style and finding inspiration… Maybe today was just a bad day. But I did try. Enjoy.

True Worship

Walking in your ways.
Trusting you for all my wants.
You are my mighty arm in war,
And my well of holy water.
I do give thee all my will.
You are my wisdom.
Listening for thy welcomed words.
I see your majestic works,
In this present world.
I sing and worship,
For you are my King.

This was really interesting and kinda weird for me to write. Honestly I didn’t enjoy it. I found it very… confining. But over all I’m glad I tried it. I can truthfully say I won’t ever write another poem like this. I may look for a word or a thought in the index but not the whole poem. Anywho now that I have reviewed this style of poetry. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Also I’m curious did any of you write an index poem and did you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments. Keep smiling, awesome sauce!!!

Allie ❤
Ps. Lest you get the wrong idea. I love worshipping. I love the subject of my poem very much… I just don’t like the style in which it has been written. [=

Only in the act of praise and worship can a person learn to believe in the goodness and greatness of God.” — C.S. Lewis

(Act. Worship. Learn. Believe. God.)

2 comments

  1. onenerdyowl · April 13, 2016

    I’ve never written or even heard of an index poem =O How does it work?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Allie · April 13, 2016

      I had never heard of it either!!! You go to the index of a book and look under a word (or letter) and write a poem based off those words/phrases. It’s an interesting idea. I just couldn’t get it to flow and it seems a bit more logic/mathematical in process than I prefer in poetry. I’m more of a lyrical idealist in style, I’m not sure of that comes across at all in my writing. But that’s how I write. I don’t usually start from a logic standpoint. Anywho NaPoWriMo’s website explains it matter than I can. http://www.napowrimo.net/day-twelve-4/ you can also check out the comments on the post to see more index poems to get a feel for the style. I may try it again if I can ever find an inspiring index… but I seriously doubt it. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

